Venue Management Association Welcomes New Board Members

May 13, 2021Member News

The VMA is delighted to advise members and the industry of the results of the 2021 Board Election.

This year’s election saw nominations being called to fill four Active member vacancies and one Allied member vacancy.

Having received four nominations for the Active member positions, they were duly elected unopposed, while we received two nominations for the one Allied position. With the voting now concluded, we congratulate and welcome the following five new Directors to the Board.

The new Directors who will commence their three year term on 19th May 2021 at the VMA’s AGM include:

Olivia Birkett AVM
Current Infrastructure and Government Relations Manager for Tennis West, which encompasses being Manager of the State Tennis Centre in Perth, Olivia has been involved in the sports, major events and venues industry for the last 20 years.

Olivia has been a member of the Venue Management Association since 2017, has graduated from the Venue Management School in 2018, was awarded the AEG Ogden Scholarship in Year 2, which saw her attend and complete the IAVM’s Graduate Institute in the US in 2019. Olivia received the status of Accredited Venue Manager (AVM) in 2020.


Matthew Howe AVM
As the current Chief Operating Officer with Federation Square, Matthew has over 19 years’ experience managing complex venues and precincts including Crown Resorts Melbourne, Melbourne and Olympic Parks, and Southern Cross Station.

Matthew graduated the Venue management School in 2009, received the status of Accredited Venue Manager (AVM) in 2013 and in 2019, he completed the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) Company Directors Course. Matt first became a member of the Venue Management Association in 2008.


Adam Lister
Adam is currently the Group General Counsel for ASM Global Asia Pacific. Adam has been a senior executive of various events and operations departments in his time within the industry, holding positions in venues that include Suncorp Stadium, the Beijing Olympic Basketball Arena and the Brisbane Entertainment Centre.

Adam studied a Juris Doctorate in Law, which he completed with honours and majoring in Corporate and Banking & Finance Law. After serving as an Associate to a Federal Court Judge in the Federal Court of Australia, Adam practiced law for a number of years within the Mergers & Acquisitions and Major Projects teams at Clayton Utz.

Adam graduated the Venue Management School in 2008 and since 2019 has been a lecturer at the School. Adam first joined the Venue Management Association in 2006.

Tim Long CVE
Tim is currently the Managing Director of Hawkridge Entertainment Services a boutique consultancy firm managing a team that assists organisations in the delivery of high profile, complex infrastructure and business enhancement projects across the Arts, Venue, Sports and Entertainment industries.

Tim graduated the Venue Management School in 2008, achieved his Certified Venue Executive (CVE) accreditation in 2019 and has been an Allied member of the Venue Management Association since 2015.


Meagan Walker
As General Manager – Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne & Olympic Parks Trust Meg has been involved in venue management since 2001.
Meg graduated the Venue Management School in 2004, graduated the IAVM’s Graduate Institute in the US in 2001, where she returned as the international guest lecturer in 2018.

Meg was on the Venue Management School VMS committee from 2012 – 2018 and was Chair from 2015 – 2017. Meg continues to lecture at the VMS (since 2010) and the Leadership Institute since its inception into Australia. Meg has been a member of the Venue Management Association since 2008.

VMA President Leighton Wood said, “On behalf of the members I take this opportunity to welcome our newly elected Directors onto the Board. The depth of experience and passion in our industry ranks is amazing and we are delighted that these five talented venue professionals will be joining the Board as the Association enters the next phase of its growth. I would also like to thank our members for their engagement in the nomination and voting process.”

Adding, “At the upcoming AGM on the 17th May I will take pleasure in introducing our new Directors and also recognising and acknowledging the outgoing Directors, David Krug, Chris Farrell AVM, Patricia McNamara CVE, Judy Vince CVE, and Evan Wood who all generously donated their time, passion and commitment to the VMA over their terms”.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This