Congratulations to our Scholarship to Attend School Winners 

Aug 17, 2023Blog

The VMA is thrilled to announce the recipients of its scholarship program for the 2023 Venue Management School (VMS). These outstanding individuals have demonstrated exceptional dedication, passion, and potential within the venue management industry, and the VMS Committee along with the industry partnerships underpinning these scholarships, are proud to support their educational journey.  

Each scholarship was created to reflect and reward the applicants’ outstanding work across several key themes that translated into everyday actions. 

The Momentus Technologies Diversity, Equality and Inclusiveness Scholarship was designed to celebrate the diversity in our industry and support the next generation of venue managers who help shape the future of events, making them more inclusive for all.  

Innovation is essential to survival, evolution and success. Event Health Management is proud to support the accelerated development of the future leaders of the venue management industry through the Innovation Scholarship. 

Kim Bedier CVE and Richard Andersen CVE, having instructed for many years at both IAVM’s and VMA’s Venue Management School are passionate about the continued professional growth of the next generation of the industry’s leaders and in 2023 offered the Emerging Leader Scholarship to attend Year 1 of VMS.  

The scholarship winners for 2023 are:  

Momentus Technologies Diversity, Equality and Inclusiveness: Cameron Bull, Presenter Services Coordinator, Geelong Arts Centre 


Event Health Management Innovation Scholarship: Mike Brew, Operations Manager, Riverside Theatres 

Emerging Leader Scholarship: Caitlin Wadsworth, Ticketing & Bookings Executive, ASM Global – ICC Sydney 

Each of the winners shared their thoughts on their success. Caitlin said, “I feel so honoured to be awarded the Emerging Leader scholarship for VMS this year. I am thrilled to have this opportunity to learn from industry leaders, expand on my current knowledge, and make lasting connections within the venue management industry.” Cameron Bull is, “truly honoured to be awarded the generous Diversity, Equality and Inclusiveness Scholarship from Momentus Technologies. This is an amazing personal and professional development opportunity and I can’t wait for November!” and adding to that sentiment, Mike Brew noted, “I am deeply honoured to receive the Event Health Management Innovation Scholarship. This opportunity fuels my commitment to transforming my professional development in venue management and pushing the boundaries of excellence in the events industry.” 

Steve Mackenzie, Chief Innovation Officer, Momentus Technologies added, “We are thrilled to announce Cameron Bull as the recipient of Momentus Technologies’ Diversity, Equality, and Inclusiveness Scholarship. Cameron’s commitment to fostering a more inclusive and diverse future in our industry has truly set him apart, and we are honoured to support his journey in driving positive change by covering his registration to the Venue Management School in November.”  

On the Emerging Leader Scholarship winner, Kim Bedier and Richard Andersen were, “pleased to award the inaugural Emerging Leader Scholarship to Caitlin Wadsworth. We believe Caitlin exemplifies the key qualities of an emerging leader: curiosity, self-motivation, collaboration, and resiliency and we are excited for Caitlin to have the opportunity to hone these and other skills at this year’s Venue Management School.”  

Hugh Singe, Managing Director of Event Health Management congratulated Mike Brew, “as the winner of the 2023 Event Health Management Innovation Scholarship. Event Health Management is proud to support the education pathway offered by the Venue Management School and Leadership Institute to future leaders in the industry.” 

Dean Hassall CVE, VMS Chair said of the scholarships, “I offer my sincere congratulations to all the scholarship winners and look forward to welcoming them to VMS 2023 at Salt Resort, Kingscliff in November. I have no doubt they will all find the VMS experience and opportunity a game changer for their future career development and aspirations. There was an outstanding field of applications this year for all scholarship categories, which made for a very difficult decision for the panel. For Cameron, Caitlin and Mike to rise to the top of the field is a credit to themselves and their organisations. On behalf of the VMS Committee, I would like to thank Event Health Management, Momentus Technologies, and Kim Bedier CVE and Richard Andersen for these wonderful opportunities that are offered to our industry to help the pathways of our future industry leaders.” 

Momentus Technologies further supports the industry by offering the VMS Year 1 Momentus Technologies Bursary, providing the top-scoring Year 1 student with their student enrolment fees for Year 2 of the program. 

The ASM Global Scholarship Award is awarded to the best graduating Year 2 student, and covers enrolment and travel costs to the International Association of Venue Manager’s Graduate Institute program in the USA, valued up to $10,000.  

Congratulations to Cameron, Caitlin and Mike! The VMS Committee look forward to seeing you all in November.  

VMS takes place at the beautiful Salt Resort in Kingscliff, NSW from Sunday, 12 November and departing on Friday, 17 November 2023. You can find further information and enrol here. 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This